MDB Local Municipal Boundary 2018

The local (Category B) municipalities are municipalities that are contained within a district (Category C) municipalities. The Metropolitan (Category A) Municipalities are municipalities with the major cities as the core (e.g. City of Johannesburg) and they are outside the District Municipalities. When the boundaries of local municipalities change and affect the boundary of district municipalities, the new district municipal boundary is generated. In the Local Municipalities 2018 shapefile there are 205Local Municipalities and 8 Metropolitan Municipalities. Note that Metropolitan Municipalities are included in the Local Municipalities shapefile to ensure that the layer is continuous throughout the country. If the Metropolitan Municipalities were left out, there will be void spaces in the layer.



Associated spaces

Cape Town , Durban , Johannesburg

Part of this shapefile

This shapefile contains 213 items - we are only displaying the first 20 below
  • !Kheis
  • Abaqulusi
  • Alfred Duma
  • Amahlathi
  • Ba-Phalaborwa
  • Beaufort West
  • Bela-Bela
  • Bergrivier
  • Big Five Hlabisa
  • Bitou
  • Blouberg
  • Blue Crane Route
  • Breede Valley
  • Buffalo City
  • Bushbuckridge
  • Cape Agulhas
  • Cederberg
  • Chief Albert Luthuli
  • City of Cape Town
  • City of Johannesburg

Something wrong with this information? Report errors here.